Jamie Beau – Catherine, John & Michael

Derby-based multi-instrumentalist, songwriter and producer Jamie Beau has released his new single Catherine, John & Michael, which is the lead track off his upcoming debut LP Tales of the Earth, Tales of the Sea… The song is an alt-folk gloomy ballad filled with fingerpicking and strings, built starting from Beau’s main influences (Jeff Buckley, Nick Drake) and then tainted also by some of the lessons delivered by contemporary (sad!) songwriters such as Mark Kozelek and Sufjan Steven. The lyrics are very dark and intimate, enough to leave me completely speechless. Beau, who has performed with Ed Sheeran in the past, had previously unveiled another track that made the cut for the record, Nightlight’s & Hindsight. 

This is what he said about the song to the guys over at Consequence Of Sound: “When writing the song I wanted to create something that was as beautiful and enrapturing as the memories the song is about. The song is my recollection of three friends throughout life that I’ve made and lost on my life journey. In particular their individual standout character traits and how sad it is that all that remains of those relationships is a memory.”

Listen below.

Catherine, John & Michael is taken from Beau’s debut LP Tales of the Earth, Tales of the Sea… which will be out on December 4th via Bearded Basket. This is the tracklist:
1. Pope
2. Prayer of the Drunk
3. Had Enough
4. Nightlight’s & Hindsight
5. Glue
6. Rise from the Sea
7. Back Home
8. Raise the Dead
9. Catherine, John & Michael
10. The Cycle
11. Of the Cruel